My definition of a smack

20130303-155942.jpg

Ok, I’ll admit it. My kids get smacked for being naughty. Why is ‘smack’ such a dirty word these days? I would struggle to find anyone who wasn’t spanked 20 plus years ago, yet it’s these people, that condemn it.

I respect that parents discipline their own kids according to what they believe is right. My decisions should be respected too. I have very polite, happy, generous, friendly kids who function in society perfectly. Now, when I say I smack my kids, I mean with an open palm on the bum or hand. We don’t use anything other our hand to discipline, and we don’t smack anywhere except for the bum or hand. I think the reason why ‘smack’ might be a dirty word is because all we hear about is the extremes. People ‘spanking’ over the head, using extreme force. These people would be in the minority, and are putting a bad image on the rest of us.

I’m going to come out and say the usual; I was smacked when I was a kid, and never turned into a criminal or someone troubled by it. Most people I know are like this too. My kids are going to learn that being naughty is not acceptable and now they know the consequences of it.

20130303-155920.jpg

I haven’t ever been closed off to other methods of discipline. I’ve tried a naughty corner, no treats/rewards, going to bed early, etc, etc. Right now, a smack and been sent to their bedroom seems to be getting the message through. When Ollie is a little older, I’ll be trying this ‘get along’ shirt as well.

Any other ideas?

Jess

20130303-155708.jpg

8 thoughts on “My definition of a smack

  1. I’m not positive the place you’re getting your
    info, but great topic. I needs to spend a while learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I used to be in search of this information
    for my mission.

  2. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing
    to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they just do not know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole
    thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

